Deciding what colour carpet you will specify in a contract installation (or even domestic situation) can be facilitated by the use of Chromatone’s unique carpet colour reference system. After selection of an agreed colour, how do you convey this information to the client? Making a statement such as it should be ‘light blue’ or ‘soft green’ or ‘light grey’ will not suffice since there are many thousands of different shades, textures and hues to take into account. Communicating colour by email, fax or phone is no longer a problem.

Chromatone has proved its worth many times over and now provides an excellent colour bank of over 2000 poms, each one identified with its own 6 digit number. This enables colours to be classified and be communicated to anywhere in the world quickly and efficiently. Each Pom produces an objective description of one unique colour and taking into account the intermediate numerical spaces, allows the theoretical specification of almost half a million colours.

Chromatone is the premier colour system which, because of the pom format of presentation, shows mobile ‘end-on’ yarn colour and therefore its response to differing directions of light source. ‘End-on’ yarn colour, as seen by the consumer in carpeting and other pile fabrics, is deeper and richer than the same yarn in flat or woven form. Equally, no other colour system (except one other for cotton), satisfactorily provides a reference standard for other forms of textured textiles.

The unique 6-digit numbering system allows a common international language of colour communication, not only within the textile industry, but between the industry, its clients, its consumers and its suppliers. The Chromatone colour system is based on three primary colours: red, yellow and blue, from which all intermediate colours derive, in order to give an evenly graded full colour spectrum. The Chromatone reference system (the Atlas) comprises 1080 yarn colours divided systematically into 45 shades of 24 basic hues. All colours have three properties: Hue (Colour), Value (lightness/darkness) and Chroma (intensity of saturation). Chromatone assigns numerical values to these three properties in the 6 digit numerical system:

Thus: 32 = Hue (colour)
70 = Value (degree of lightness/darkness)
50 = Chroma (intensity of colour saturation)


CHROMATONE colours are coded by
six digit numbers.

e.g. 32 70 50

32 70 50
The first two digit number represents the hue selected from the chromatic circle.
e.g. 32 70 50

32 70 50
The second two digit number, identified by the vertical dotted lines from the base of the triangle, represents the relative lightness/darkness of the colour.

The higher the number, the lighter the colour.

32 70 50 The third two digit number, identified by the diagonal dotted lines from the R.H.S. of the triangle represents the chromatic intensity of the colour.

The higher the number. the more saturated the colour.